Away from home…

by Pedalling Poetry

12311981_10153780814599241_1384171505_n

‘Today I sat in the window in the Project Cafe and wrote.  Or more accurately, pulled together some notes I’d written on a previous visit, and edited them into a poem.  The poem might change yet.  I tend to edit and edit.  But it is a beginning.  Sitting in the cafe gave me the momentum I needed to keep writing in between staring into space and sipping delicious coffee.  And the talk around me forced me to focus on what I was writing and hold the poem to its shape.  It’s a beginning.  And appropriately, for a beginning poem, the poem is about an egg.  A dragon egg.’

So wrote our latest writer-in-residence Liz Basset as she began her residency. The dragon egg has hatched into a whole pamphlet, now available on the tell it slant shelves!